Motto: “From Data to Value”.  PhD from MIT, USA (1993); Full Professor at the University of Coimbra (2010-); Dean of NOVA-IMS at the NOVA University Lisbon (2018-2022); Vice-Rector of the NOVA University Lisbon (2022-); Member of the Portuguese National Parliament (2009-2015); Vice-Rector of the University of Coimbra (2007-2009); receiver of the Feigenbaum Award (1998) by ASQ, the Yoshio Kondo Award (2019) by IAQ and the Grant Medal (2022) by ASQ. Over 30 years of international teaching, research and consulting experience in quality and excellence.