Innovation Award

This award acknowledges organisations that integrate best practice learning with original ideas and creativity, excelling in fostering an innovation culture across all aspects of their operation, from leadership to employees and stakeholders, leading to innovative processes, products, and services.

Enter by 6 June 2024


To complement the International Best Practice Competition (IBPC) organisations are encouraged to apply for IBPC’s Organisation-Wide Innovation Award.

This award recognises organisations that have embraced best practice learning and combined this learning with their own ideas and creativity to become highly innovative. The award recognises organisations that excel in embedding an innovation culture throughout all facets of their operation from the leadership to employees and covering all stakeholders leading to innovative processes, products and services.

The Organisation-Wide Innovation Award investigates these 10 areas:

  1. Leadership
  2. Strategic Planning
  3. Recruitment, Training and Development
  4. Processes, Tools and Techniques
  5. Ideas and Best Practice Management
  6. Facilities and Resources
  7. People and Culture
  8. Stakeholder Relationships
  9. Metrics
  10. Results

The OWIA’s Certification Scheme is used for assessing the applications:

  • Role Model, World-Class, Wow! (7 Stars, ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★)
  • Outstanding at an International Level (6 Stars, ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★)
  • Excellence at an International Level (5 Stars, ★ ★ ★ ★ ★)
  • Excellence at a Local Level (4 Stars, ★ ★ ★ ★)
  • Competence (Professional) (3 Stars, ★ ★ ★)
  • Progressing (Minor Deficiencies) (2 Star, ★ ★)
  • Deficient (Major Deficiencies) (1 Star, )

Enter this Award

Download the entry form and email your completed entry to by 6 June 2024 to enter.

Entry Fee

An entry fee is payable should you qualify to Round 2.

Fees are shown here.


  • The Entry Fee must be paid prior to presenting in front of the judges.
  • The judges’ decision is final.
  • 7-Star Winners of the Organisation-Wide Innovation Award are prohibited from entering these awards again for a period of 3 years.

Presentation Guidelines

Please refer to the presentation guidelines page for rules and suggestions on preparing your presentation.

6 June


– Round 1 –

Enter by the Closing Date

Download the Application Form and submit your application before the closing date.

29 June


Receive Feedback

Expert reviewers will assess your application. These reviewers are independent of the judges and their role is to select the applications for the final and provide feedback and advice that will improve the standard of successful applications.

17 July


– Round 2 –

Entry Fee Payable

Entry fee required (only payable if your entry qualifies to the final).

Submissions to be updated and improved based on feedback.

2 August



All finalists need to prepare a 15-minute pre-recorded presentation and send it to the OWIA committee at least 5 days before the scheduled presentation date for review to ensure compliance with the presentation guidelines.

7 August



Up to six (6) applicants will be invited to the final.

At the final the applicant’s 15-minute pre-recorded presentation will be played followed by a live Question and Answer session with a panel of judges.

These sessions are open so that other participants can learn from them. All participants will have their innovation approach graded using OWIA’s Certification Scheme. Winner(s) selected based on highest star rating.

9 August


19 August